5 New Things!

November 9, 2014 at 4:00 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Every year, my only real New Year’s Resolution I make is to try five new things throughout the year. For some reason, I’ve been thinking a lot about my 5 things lately. I have completed my 5 for this year, so I wanted to share my excitement!

1. I went to a trampoline park for the first time. I love doing active things, but I don’t really like doing them alone. My Nerdy Girls helped me out with this one and went with me so I could get my bounce on. It was a ton of fun, and a great workout! I totally don’t recommend the foam pit, though. It’s a bear to get out of!

2. I sang karaoke for the first time. I used to be in choirs growing up, but I’ve never thought I had more than a middling voice. I’m quite self-conscious about it, and I’ve never, ever had the urge to do karaoke. I was persuaded(under duress!) to sing karaoke last weekend. It took a bit of liquid courage as well!

3. I peed in a stall with no door in a public place. I know this one’s a bit weird! I stopped by a rest stop on a long road trip. The first stall had no door. There was no one in the restroom, so I got a little crazy and used that one. It would have been quite awkward if someone had walked in!

4. I ate my first persimmon! One of the parents at school asked what our snack of the day was on Friday. She said that the kids said that it tasted like a pumpkin. As I was leaving school that day, the other teachers were talking about an old wives tale that had to do with the seeds. So, they called over the intercom to see if any of the teachers had leftovers. A couple brought some up. I had never had one before, so I had one on my way home that day. It tasted like a cross between a pumpkin and a pear, in my opinion!

5. I spoke on a panel at a Comic-con! I think this is my favorite new thing I did this year! As I mentioned, I’m a member of an organization called the Nerdy Girls. They are fantastic, and have been great friends the past year. Someone from Wizard World reached out and asked if we would be interested in speaking at a panel. We ended up on two! I only sat on one of the panels, however. My panel was about Feminism in Fandom. I was afraid that it wouldn’t be well attended when I saw that Tom Felton was speaking at the same time! I was pleasantly surprised, and our room was nearly full. The audience had great questions, and we were able to speak the whole time. I would love to do it again!

What are some new things you’ve tried this year?

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

