Best Moment of Peace of 2009

December 8, 2009 at 9:23 pm | Posted in challenge, Essays | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

It’s late June, and while the air in North Carolina is sultry, it’s not opressive. It’s dark enough that I can’t see well enough to walk down the street without a flashlight, there are no street lights on the island, and the porch lights at the house are out. My mom, my aunt, my brother, and my cousins are upstairs in the house watching a movie or playing a game. I am not trying to get away, but I am enjoying the time to myself.

I would feel like I was floating except for the rope of the hammock digging into my back. I dangled one leg off the side to rock myself back and forth. It is soothing, and I breathe deep of the salted air. I sway gently in the air, thinking about everything and nothing. It is soothing, and I think I can relax enough to fall asleep. Replete, I finally roll myself out of the hammock, catching myself in time to avoid crashing into the concrete patio. I make my way inside to rejoin my family, still floating in the evening breeze.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.